Home > Library Collections > Databases and Websites

Your Link To:

Collections
Databases and Websites
Digital Books
Reader's Corner
Purchase Request
History Collections
Haywood County
Genealogy

Quick Contacts:

Waynesville:
828-452-5169

Canton:
828-648-2924

Maggie Valley:
828-926-0461 ext. 6

Fines Creek
828-627-0146

Databases and Websites by Subject: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

There are three categories of use:

Available on any computer with a library card, you will need an NC LIVE password to access some of these databases remotely. Please call 452-5169 for more information.

Only available at the libraries

Suggested Internet site

Selecting these links may open a new window in your browser.
If you have a firewall installed on your computer, it may need to be disabled temporarily.

Britannica Online Academic Edition via Britannica General interest encyclopedia
Britannica Online Kids Edition via Britannica General Interest Encyclopedia for Kids
Britannica Online Public Library Edition via Britannica General Interest Encyclopedia
Britannica Online School Edition via Britannica General reference encyclopedia students and teachers
Enciclopedia Universal en Español via Britannica General interest encyclopedia in Spanish
Encyclopedia of Animals via EBSCOhost Articles and images on the nature and habitat of animals
Reference - Bartleby.com
Dictionary Online dictionary
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost General interest encyclopedia
Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale Searchable collection of E-Book reference titles
North Carolina Encyclopedia Facts about North Carolina
OneLook Reverse Dictionary OneLook's reverse dictionary lets you describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept.
Online Thesaurus
Wikipedia Internet Encyclopedia
World Data Analyst via Britannica Statistical portraits and tools for making comparative charts and tables of countries.

 

 

Search The Haywood County Public Library Catalog:

Keyword Search:

 
 

 

Search The Haywood County Public Library Website:


Search The Web:


Google

 

 

Account Login

Renew books, reserve or request materials, and review your account online.

Account Login

E-Notify

Want to be notified when your favorite author's books are available? Click Here

HCPL Blogs

Hot Reads

Focus On: