Home > Library Collections > Databases and Websites

Your Link To:

Collections
Databases and Websites
Digital Books
Reader's Corner
Purchase Request
History Collections
Haywood County
Genealogy

Quick Contacts:

Waynesville:
828-452-5169

Canton:
828-648-2924

Maggie Valley:
828-926-0461 ext. 6

Fines Creek
828-627-0146

Databases and Websites by Subject: Medical and Health

There are three categories of use:

Available on any computer with a library card, you will need an NC LIVE password to access some of these databases remotely. Please call 452-5169 for more information.

Only available at the libraries

Suggested Internet site

Selecting these links may open a new window in your browser.
If you have a firewall installed on your computer, it may need to be disabled temporarily.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Information regarding health promotion and disease prevention
CINAHL w/Full Text via EBSCOhost Journals, dissertations and books for nursing and allied health research
Clinical Pharmacology via EBSCOhost Drug monographs for all types of drugs available in the U.S.
CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Health Source: Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost General health, nutrition and medical journals
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost Contains scholarly and peer-reviewed journals for nursing and allied health
Healthfinder A consumer health gateway site
HealthLink Plus Authoritative and timely health and medical information
HealthWeb Evaluated non-commercial, health-related, Internet resources
HIV InSite A gateway to HIV/AIDS information
Mayo Clinic Health Oasis Consumer health information from the Mayo clinic
Medem Comprehensive healthcare information including a 'Medical Library'
MEDLINEplus Authoritative medical information for professionals and consumers
National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC) Free, reliable health information for women
NC Health Info Access to local health services and programs in NC
NOAH: New York Online Access to Health Searchable collection of consumer health information
Oncolink : A University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center Resource Searchable source of cancer-related information
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost Citations of peer-reviewed journals, books, and reports in psychology field
PubMed Bibliographic information covering a variety of medical disciplines
State Center for Health Statistics Online reports of health-related statistics

 

 

Search The Haywood County Public Library Catalog:

Keyword Search:

 
 

 

Search The Haywood County Public Library Website:


Search The Web:


Google

 

 

Account Login

Renew books, reserve or request materials, and review your account online.

Account Login

E-Notify

Want to be notified when your favorite author's books are available? Click Here

HCPL Blogs

Hot Reads

Focus On: