Juvenile Crime Prevention Council

Meeting Information

  • The Juvenile Crime Prevention Council (JCPC) meets monthly a minimum of 8 months out of the year.  
  • Meetings are conducted from 12:00 to 1:30 pm.
  • Haywood County Health and Human Services, 157 Paragon Parkway, Clyde (Note:  COVID safety precautions may affect meeting format.)


  • Statutory authority: North Carolina General Statutes 143B-845 through 143B-853.
  • Through partnership with the state of North Carolina and the Board of County Commissioners, JCPC develops community-based alternatives to detention and youth development centers and provides community-based delinquency and substance abuse prevention strategies and programs


  • Per NC GS 143B-846, The JCPC shall consist of not more than 26 members and should include, if possible, the following: local school superintendent, or that person's designee; chief of police in the county, or the appointed chief's designee; local sheriff, or that person's designee; district attorney, or that person's designee; chief court counselor, or that person's designee; director of the area local management entity/managed care organization (LME/MCO) or that person's designee; director of the county department of social services, or consolidated human services agency, or that person's designee; county manager, or that person's designee; substance abuse professional; a member of the faith community; a county commissioner; two persons under the age of 21 years, or one person under the age of 21 years and one member of the public representing the interests of families of at-risk juveniles; a juvenile defense attorney; the chief district court judge, or a judge designated by the chief district court Judge; a member of the business community; local health director, or that person's designee; a representative from the United Way or other nonprofit agency; a representative of a local parks and recreation program; up to seven members of the public.
  • Vacancies are not posted. Appointments are made by the JCPC Board and approved by the County Commissioners.
  • Members are appointed to two-year terms.