Haywood County Planning Board


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • 4th Monday of every month
  • Annex II
    Conference Room


The purpose of the Planning Board is to: 

  • Prepare and from time to time amend and revise a comprehensive and coordinated plan for the physical development of the county
  • Acquire and maintain in current form such basic information and materials as are necessary for an understanding of past trends, present conditions, and forces at work to cause changes in these conditions
  • Establish principles and policies for guiding action in the development of the area
  • Prepare and recommend to the Board of Commissioners ordinances promoting orderly development along the lines indicated in the comprehensive plan
  • Determine whether specific proposed developments conform to the principles and requirements of the comprehensive plan for growth and improvement of the area

The Planning Board is expected to keep the Board of Commissioners and the general public informed of these matters and to perform other that may lawfully be assigned to it.